Shinwa Jidai no Saikyou Kenja – Ch. 1

T/N 1: Translation process for all novels are gonna slow down significantly cause my mom broke her ankle and all the chores now is in my hands.

The Healing Hero, Remembers Everything

“Gah…!”

I was kicked and blown away for 30 meters to the wall of the school building.

Maybe something is broken somewhere. My whole body was screaming in pain.

“Fuhahaha! You weakling! All of your efforts are for naught!”

Kars who just blew me away was laughing from the bottom of his heart.

The facial expression of the students who are watching are dark.

I force my tattered body to stand up.

It’s not strange to lose yourself. You enter a state where you’re being supported by your energy and guts alone.

I was taking the graduation exam of the secondary magic academy.

I have no magical talents, nor talent for swordsmanship. But I never wavered in my efforts.

Repeatedly practicing magic everyday until my magic power was exhausted, and continuing to swing the sword until the sun sets. Even then, I could only barely meet the minimum requirements for the graduation exam.

Up until now I have managed to live my life as an academy student, but I couldn’t do anything for the graduation exam. Thus, the me who couldn’t pass the normal exam is now taking the “Special Graduation Exam”.

The special graduation examination where you pass after having a mock battle with one of the instructors of the magic school. and are recognized as having the ability that is needed to graduate.

The instructors who acknowledged my efforts hurriedly set up this special graduation exam in an effort to help me.

However, not everyone sees it positively.

“Are you done? Don’t you feel sorry for everyone who’s been moving behind the screen to make this possible for you?”

“No… Not yet!”

The magic instructor Kars is looking down towards me.

He, who came from an elite class, seemed to dislike me, who has no natural abilities, form the very beginning, I was always humiliated or given meaningless works.

I didn’t complain and endured Kars’ bullying. It seems the other students and instructors appreciate how I’ve been dealing with it.

It seemed to ire Kars even further though…

“The likes of you have no business in using magic! Haa!”

Kars inserts his power into his fist and approaches me with light steps.

“Instructor Kars! That’s enough! Are you intending to kill Kite!?”

“What, are you going to interfere with the exam, Mina Linsel?”

“T, that is… Yeah. Kite is more important than the exam.”

Mina, a childhood friend who’s in the same year, hounds down on Kars. The beautiful girl who constantly competes for the first and second place didn’t give up on me.

“Please don’t stop. Until I got the instructor’s acknowledgement… I will…”

“What are you saying!? That guy has no intention of acknowledging your graduation!”

“No matter how I am, I’m still an instructor. I’m not a demon. If he can beat me, then it’s a given that I will approve of his graduation. Would he be able to do so if he comes at me ready to die. Well, not like it matters to me anyway.”

“…! As I thought, you have no intention on approving him from the beginning! You know full well that there is no way a student from the secondary magic academy can defeat an instructor! The one who was supposed to be in charge of the exam, Instructor Ares also suddenly got injured… I wonder if that has anything to do with this.”

Originally, the graduation examination was supposed to be conducted by my teacher, Ares. Somehow, though, he was injured by someone this morning. It was because of that that my examiner turns out to be Kars instead.

One may or may not say that Kars is the culprit, but there was no evidence.

“Thank you, Mina. But it’s ok. Even Instructor Kars can’t prepare an exam that can’t be cleared. As he said, if I come at him determined to die I might be able to do it somehow.”

By the way, Kars’ words regarding willingness to die is not figurative. Personal battles will often end up in death, let alone a graduation exam. I’m really fighting for my life right now.

The rule of the graduation examination is to fight until someone gives up or can’t continue fighting. Even if you give up, you can graduate if your ability is recognized by the instructor, but… Kars will definitely not acknowledge it.

“Kite… But if if you die, then I…”

This time Remilia is the one saying something.

“If that instructor does anything to Kite, then Mina will thoroughly kill him. That’s why Remilia shouldn’t worry, ok.”

Remilia’s older twin sister – Mina, pats Remilia on her shoulders and gives a thumbs up.

Mina is the runner-up of the most beautiful girl in the school year. She’s even stronger than Remilia in a one-one-one battle.

A magician who are more promising than me and also holds more talent than me. If it’s Mina, then she might really be able to beat Kars, who is an instructor.

“Geez, would you stop with such nasty talks… Seriously, the match hasn’t even been decided yet.”

“That is… true, but… yeah…”

“If Kite defeats Kars, then it will be settled peacefully. But, it’s a one in a million chance.”

Yare yare, they worry too much. No matter what, an instructor wouldn’t kill a student. Instructors must be a man of magic, noble, and have personal character.

Telling me to come being determined to die is a way to encourage me as well.

Then, the thing I should do is…

I gripped my sword.

“I kept you waiting. I will win, and then I’ll get Instructor Kars’ acknowledgement!”

I gathered my strength and kicked the ground. I then swung the sword sideways.

My whole body is trembling, but I can still move!

This blow is my strongest yet today!

However, Kars avoided my sword and takes a step back towards the right. Immediately afterwards, he activated his magic. Ice spears are created one after the other in the air. The number of spears: 30.

“I seriously hate that side of yours… Oh, oh? The output of the magic has become bigger because I failed to properly activate the magic!”

With the tone that he didn’t fail at all, Kars activated his offensive magic.

“Fuhahaha! If you can take this many and not die in the process, then you’ll pass!!!”

So many spears are formed that the only thing I could think of is that he’s coming at me to kill me.

A large number of spears rain down on me in an instant.

Are you… serious?

No matter how far, I never thought that I would be killed. However, he strengthened the magic before firing it. He’s undoubtedly meaning to kill me, while pretending all of it to be an accident.

However, I no longer have the time to protest.

“Kin! Kin! Kin!”

I succeeded in attacking three of the spears and destroying them.

However…

“Ah… Gah…”

One on the chest. One on my right arm. One on my left arm. One on my knee.

A total of 4 spears pierced my body.

The wound in the chest is a fatal blow.

It felt like I have escaped a direct blow to the heart, but I can feel the blood flowing freely from my arteries.

I didn’t think that he would aim for a vital point…

It’s hot.

I don’t feel any pain because it’s already too painful, but I can hear my body screaming all around.

Ah, so this is where I die…

My awareness starts to fade away. I couldn’t see anything as my field of view is filled with mist. Just like this, I was about to disappear from this world.

—!?

The moment I accepted death and nature. Suddenly, something that wasn’t myself flows inside me.

No, it’s not “something that isn’t me”. Clearly it’s “my body”.

I don’t even understand what I’m saying right now. But, I felt that.

I and “me”, combined into one.

And then, I remember everything.


Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started