Cook of the Mercenary Corps Ch. 27 Pt. 2

T/N 1: Sorry for the long pause between releases. Like I said in another post, my mom broke her ankle, and so I have to do all the chores in addition to my online teaching and R&D work. There goes my gaming time…
T/N 2: Translated this with freshly baked pizza and pasta sitting next to me waiting to be eaten. This is bliss… *Kerslapped*
T/N 3: And in this chapter, kids, we will see the importance of phrasing.

Wedding Costume and Pizza – 2nd Half

The Shukach’s Village Chief’s house is filled with sorrow.

I must have been too happy with how the things have been changing lately that I forgot some things.

That is, I finally figured out after hearing the villagers.

This is Ekress. Right now I’m talking with everyone.

The truth behind Shukach’s intent to rebel. It was because I forgot to take care of them.

I wasn’t paying any attention to their feelings, I just looked at the freedom I managed to get, and I’m paying for it right now.

“…I’m really sorry. This is my fault.”

“No! It’s not Lord Ekress’ fault!”

“They are the problem! Even though they come from outside, to be controlling the territory with only their own way!”

Mansem screamed and hit the desk.

Even though they weren’t opening their mouths, I think they all have the same feeling. They’re making quite a difficult face, and they weren’t rebuking Mansem on his attitude and outburst. That is proof enough.

“This is what I’ve said many times as well. Both Gingus and I won’t be able to survive the coming wars.”

“Even so!”

“This is also for everyone’s sake!”

Let’s put this fruitless dispute to an end.

I let out a loud voice, and take a look on everyone.

I’m making a face that everyone is expecting of me.

If it’s me I should be able to do it. Even now it’s not too late yet. For this territory…

And that’s is why, it’s impossible. For me.

“If it’s a peaceful time, Gingus and I can somehow do it. But now, it is the time where wars are upon us, and the time where those who are closest to us will die. In this kind of era, a good politician in and by itself will not be able to protect everyone. You have to be ruthless, you have to be passionate, you have to be able to do good and evil both at the same time. And that’s Ganglabe! That’s why I entrusted him, to be able to continue to live with everyone!”

Upon hearing my words, everyone else lost theirs and kept silent.

I wish they could understand. It’s not enough to be just excellent. That is simply not enough.

To be underhanded, to be able to bring forward cruelty.

One with passion, and with humanity.

To acknowledge the good, and swallow the bad.

If it’s not such a person, then it’s meaningless.

And then, I heard a murmur from among the villagers.

“…We simply wanted to take care of Lord Ekress…”

With those words as the beginning, the villagers raised their head and looked straight at me before starting to speak out.

“Our lives up to this point is only possible for us by taking advantage of Lord Ekress’ accomodation.”

“Even when there’s a battle Lord Gingus is fighting bravely.”

“It is undoubtedly due to both Lord Ekress and Lord Gingus that we are able to live peacefully and without fear like this.”

“If the lord is useless, than we’d like (for you) to live happily, at least.”

“We were afraid that they might do something.”

The words from the villagers who were purely worried for me is overflowing.

I was happy. I was simply, happy.

The people who I were trying to protect, are genuinely worried about me.

Even if I lost the right of succeeding the Lord’s position, and I became simply Ekress, it was something I was yearning for, and I couldn’t be happier about it.

But..

“Don’t worry”

I said while flashing a smile.

“I am very happy right now. To be able to receive everyone’s thoughts like that. And above that, ever since I took this position, I met someone important.”

The villagers became noisy.

“I met someone I love. My first love. Even now, for my sake, he’s still trying to do something for me.”

“That’s…”

Mansem said, perplexed.

“That good-looking man?”

“No, that’s…”

“Everyone~”

Ah, you came here after all. To manage this situation, and to help.

At times like these, you will without fail appear with a plate in your hands.

“Everyone must be hungry, so please take a bite of this first!”

You came bringing delicious foods and happiness along.

Shuri…

As I thought, there really is no one else but you.

“Everyone, please, have some!”

And Shuri, who said those lines, whipped out a bread. Is it a bread, though?

Various ingredients are served on top of a flattened bread. Even just looking at it with a glance, I can see tomato, bacon, bell pepper, basil, and cheese on top of it.

Shuri brought in a colorful bread that is full of red, green, and yellow, and is big enough to fit on a platter. Furthermore, there are 2 of them.

To say it shortly, it’s gorgeous.

“This… What is this?”

Mansem cautiously asked Shuri.

Shuri answered Mansem with his chest puffed. He’s always like this. When it comes to cooking, he’s always full of confidence.

“This is something called pizza. Please wait for a little bit.”

And soon after he said that, he whipped out a strange shaped tool. The tip of the handle is shaped like a rotating saw.

He thrust that tool into the pizza and began to cut it as if he’s used to it.

I see… That’s the perfect tool in order to cut the pizza into 2 or 4 pieces. I wonder if it’s also handmade by Riru.

“Well then, Mansem, here you go.”

Shuri, who just said that line, offered a slice of the pizza to Mansem.

Mansem replied, clearly confused.

“No, even if you ask me… what are you trying to do?”

“If you eat it then you’ll understand. Go on, I’ll distribute it to the others as well.”

Shuri pushes the pizza towards Mansem and proceeds to hand it out to the others as well.

Unfortunately he didn’t hand it out to everyone, but since there are some of them who are afraid to eat it as well, it didn’t evolve into a fight.

But still… It looks delicious, isn’t it.

It looks lite it was freshly cooked with steam coming out, and the cheese melt and turned to strings when pulled. Along with the heat, the smell also comes wafting around.

Aahh, it smells so good… The sour scent peculiar to tomato and the scent of basil is also wafting around.

“And then? This is…”

“Please, help yourself.”

Shuri told Mansem in a quiet tone.

“If you eat it, you might come to understand Ekress’ preparedness and some other things, you know?”

Upon hearing those words, Mansem’s complexion changed.

To understand about me? What does that even mean?

“Okay, I understand. It’s fine if I just eat this, right!”

“Yeah! That’s the spirit!”

Mansem goes down on the pizza as he decided his mind.

He eat it in one big bite.

And then he froze.

Ah, I understand, Every time I eat Shuri’s cooking that will happen to me as well.

His food is often unorthodox, but it will give everyone the same experience.

“…It’s good.”

The feeling of eating something delicious, immediately followed by happiness. That kind of feeling.

“This is really good! You have more?”

“Another slice… Please wait for a bit.”

True, if we see the plate then we can see that there’s one slice remaining. Why?

Behind Shuri is Cougar and Riru, looking jealous. Did they not get some?

“You’re right! It’s good!”

When I thought about that, another similar voice is heard.

“The richness of the cheese and the smell of basil is great!”

“And the sourness of the tomato goes really well with this!”

“It also uses good bacon, this one. It’s not the shriveled and dry one, there’s a freshly made taste to it.”

As the other villagers are on the process of raising their voice in happiness, Shuri pushed the last slice towards me.

“Ekress too, enjoy.”

“Is that okay?”

“Of course. I made this for your sake.”

For my sake, is it? If you say it like that then there’s no way I can refuse.

I took the pizza and ate it without hesitation.

Aah, it’s delicious. Even from just one bite I can tell that much.

The mellow richness of the cheese and the sourness of the tomato are excellent. The umami of the pizza is largely based from the taste of the bread itself, as well as the cheese and tomato.

The mellowness and richness, as well as the refreshing and unique slight bitterness of the bell pepper; you may never get tired of eating this.

The crispy texture of the fresh bell pepper reinforces the fluffy texture of the bread.

The taste of bacon itself… The dish is perfected with the saltiness and great taste of the well-made bacon.

However, it is only one slice. It will be finished in no time.

“Thank you. It’s delicious.”

I offered my thanks to Shuri while licking the cheese on my finger.

It was really delicious. Seriously so. As always, Shuri’s cooking is delicious.

“Thank you, Ekress. Well then, everyone, you saw earlier, didn’t you?”

Shuri looked towards the villagers before speaking.

“That Ekress ate the same food that everyone ate.”

Upon hearing those words, the villagers were all taken aback. I also just noticed this.

It is as he said, I did eat the same food as everyone. Me, who was the successor to the former lord.

Previously, Ekress may not be someone who is eating the same food as everyone. Perhaps Ekress did while coming here on an inspection, but that is not the important point. To eat the same food, to feel the same feelings, and to see with the same eyes as everyone. It’s because Ekress has shortened the distance from you.”

I see. Certainly, when I came to inspect this village earlier, I partook on the same meal as them.

But it was a job. I didn’t share my meal and ate with everyone.

“But, Ekress happily it. The same delicious food, and together with everyone, said that it was delicious.”

Shuri holds a large plate on each of his hand, and continues.

“And now, how do everyone feel regarding the distance from Ekress? Is it as far as it was before? Are you feeling distant, and unhappy? Or,”

Shuri smiled wildly and said.

“To be close to everyone and be happy together, were you able to see that?”

Upon hearing those words, confusion appeared on the faces of the villagers.

But, that is also only for a moment.

“We were close. We can see clearly Lord Ekress’ smiling face.”

was the villagers’ children. They took a look at my face before saying happily.

“It was unthinkable to get this close before, but now, I can say my gratitude directly and see Lord Ekress’ smile.”

And from that, the words begun to flow.

“That’s true. In the past, only the village chief and the manager of the factory would have the chance.. Even just one or two words of gratitude was the limit.”

“We spoke and uttered our thoughts without caution. We troubled Lord Ekress.”

“We couldn’t see Lord Ekress’ unhappiness and pain.”

I see… So this is what Shuri wanted to convey.

I weren’t here because I’ve been overthrown. I’m standing on the same ground, and looking with the same eyes as everyone.

That you can look at the past and find that you’re happy.

Using only the pizza, Shuri can eloquently convey it.

If you pay attention, you can see that there are no more insecurity in the faces of the villagers like before. They all wear relieved faces now.

I’m glad… If that’s the case then I can be relieved as well.

“And even then, if you can see unhappiness…”

And here, Shuri bowed to everyone.

And said some surprising words.

“Because I will make Ekress happy, please don’t worry!!”

The air froze. I froze.

Cougar froze. Ruri froze. Everyone froze.

Eh? EH?? That… Isn’t that…

A Proposal?

“You!”

Mansem put his hand on Shuri’s shoulders and lifted his face.

“Those words, there’s no going back!”

“Eh? Ah, yes.”

“If this is a lie, then I will chase you down to the ends of the earth and hit you! That’s why, that’s why… Please! Please make Lord Ekress happy!”

“Eh, eh, eh? Ah, yes…”

On Mansem’s words, the villagers show happy faces.

Aside from that, is this… Eh? I could do nothing while my face became bright red.

After that, Shuri cooked pizza again for everyone who couldn’t eat it earlier.

Everyone seems to be looking forward to it, and they decided to close the factory for today and gathered in the plaza.

And then, there’s Shuri and I, and Riru and Cougar.

“That, is that for baking pizza?”

“That’s right. If this wasn’t here then the pizza wouldn’t be here.”

Shuri said while continuing to cook.

Just outside of the village, Shuri made a kiln to bake pizza. Everything seems to be Riru’s work, though.

Prepared bread dough… Apparently you stretch the made-in-advance bread dough, flatten it, and tinker with it dexterously.

Place the cut ingredients on a pan, and put them inside the glowing red kiln. Apparently that is really hot. Even from here I can feel the heat.

“For everyone’s sake… Thank you, Shuri.”

“No no, this is for Ekress’ sake as well.”

For my sake… Ah, no good. My face will become red again it seems.

For some reason I suddenly received a confession, and it made me very happy.

…Well, that is what I wanted to say anyways.

“Shuri, a question.”

“Ah, me too.”

Towards Shuri who is cooking, Riru initiated a conversation.

“To make her happy, what did you mean?”

“Eh? Well, that is, to give her delicious food, and make peace in the country that Ganglabe is now ruling over? Is there any other meaning? There will surely be a lot more fun ahead of us compared to just fighting for the ruler’s seat!”

I thought so! I hang my head down while having a bitter smile.

Indeed Shuri is… Someone who can sometimes give people premature joy only to bring it crashing down afterwards!

“Zat so, I can be at ease then.”

“Is there something, Cougar?”

“Nah, it’s just that Riru and I have the same question… Is that answer really alright?”

“Huh?”

Seems like Shuri doesn’t understand.

But someday, the true meaning of those words… I will wait and remain hopeful that someday Shuri will say those words and the meaning that I wanted, when I can give an answer to those words.

And then, I would dress up in the wedding dress they made, and stand besides you.


Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter

6 thoughts on “Cook of the Mercenary Corps Ch. 27 Pt. 2

  1. Could it be that Shuri would be single until the end? Since most of the female would not confess directly such as ‘I like/love you, Shuri. As the opposite sex’.

    Like

  2. I get the feeling that it will take Nobunaga to make Shuri understand that Riru and Ekress have feelings for him. How? I’m not sure but its usually something the bad guy prepares that makes the MC wake up to his feelings, if he is a dence oaf.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started